St. Louis City Guide

Supply Chain Management Degrees In St. Louis

Where to study supply chain management in St. Louis, what residency and STEM status change there, and what the St. Louis metro pays.

By the Supply Chain Degree Programs editorial team Updated
A tall stainless steel arch rising out of parkland against a blue sky, with people walking a path beneath it
Accredited Programs
9
AACSB and ACBSP records
Schools
5
St. Louis, MO-IL
Manager Median Pay
$110,070
BLS OEWS, May 2025

St. Louis Programs And Costs At A Glance

  • Nine programs at five schools. 3 bachelor’s, 5 master’s, 1 doctorate.
  • Stated graduate totals run $42,000 to $150,920. A bachelor’s runs $14,400 to $62,982 a year in tuition and fees.
  • Out-of-state undergraduates pay $21,420 extra per year at University of Missouri-St. Louis. It is the one public university here with a bachelor’s.
  • Supply chain managers’ BLS occupation: median $110,070. Middle half $83,400 to $140,460; nationally $107,230.
  • Three programs state STEM designation. Saint Louis University MS, University of Missouri-St. Louis MS and Washington University in St. Louis MS.
  • 27 online programs take Missouri and Illinois residents. Among local programs, University of Missouri-St. Louis lists an online format.

The metro

The St. Louis Metro This Guide Covers

The Census Bureau defines the St. Louis metro as the St. Louis, MO-IL metropolitan statistical area: 15 counties, seven central and eight outlying. The St. Louis metro reaches into Missouri and Illinois. Every St. Louis figure here for jobs, pay and industry covers that whole area.

Principal cities
St. Charles, MO and St. Louis, MO
Central counties
Madison County, IL, Monroe County, IL, St. Clair County, IL, Jefferson County, MO, St. Charles County, MO, St. Louis County, MO and St. Louis city, MO
Outlying counties
Bond County, IL, Calhoun County, IL, Clinton County, IL, Jersey County, IL, Macoupin County, IL, Franklin County, MO, Lincoln County, MO and Warren County, MO

Census Bureau CBSA delineation, July 2023. Schools are placed in the metro by their county.

Programs

Accredited Supply Chain Programs In St. Louis

St. Louis has nine accredited supply chain programs, at University of Missouri-St. Louis, Washington University in St. Louis, Fontbonne University, Ranken Technical College and Saint Louis University. By level, St. Louis has three bachelor’s, five master’s and one doctorate.

Verified supply chain programs in St. Louis, at a glance
Program LevelTuitionCredits
Saint Louis University M.S. in Supply Chain Management Master’s$42,000 total30
Washington University in St. Louis Master of Science in Supply Chain Management (MSSCM) Master’s$84,000 total36
University of Missouri-St. Louis Master of Science, Supply Chain Analytics (Supply Chain Analytics MS) Master’s30
Washington University in St. Louis Full-Time MBA MBA$150,920 total67
Washington University in St. Louis Supply Chain, Operations, and Technology, BSBA Bachelor’s$62,982 a year, in-state
University of Missouri-St. Louis Business Administration BS, Supply Chain Management Emphasis Bachelor’s$14,400 a year, in-state

Each row jumps to the program’s card below. A blank cell means the school’s program page does not state that figure.

Ranked 43 of 45 master’s programs

Saint Louis University

M.S. in Supply Chain Management

St. Louis, MO

  • On campus
  • STEM-designated
  • AACSB-accredited business school
  • Lowest stated total of the 3 St. Louis graduate programs that state one
  • Shortest stated length of the 2 St. Louis graduate programs that state one
More about this program

30 credits build Saint Louis University's Chaifetz School master's in supply chain management, taught in evening in-person classes. Core coursework covers forecasting and demand management, operations and process management, supply chain sourcing and strategy, pricing and revenue analytics, prescriptive analytics, and enterprise systems and big data courses through the school's information technology management department, plus a supply chain consulting elective. Students who waive the business statistics prerequisite can finish in one year, and others take up to two years and 33 credits. Admission calls for an undergraduate degree, a resume, and one or two recommendation letters, with international applicants also submitting English proficiency scores. The Chaifetz School notes U.S. News ranks the program among the top 15 nationally for graduate supply chain management. Total program tuition is $42,000, and all applicants are automatically considered for scholarships. Graduates gain STEM certification, which lets international students apply for an OPT extension.

Total
$42,000
Credits
30
Length
12-24 months

Ranked 45 of 45 master’s programs

Washington University in St. Louis

Master of Science in Supply Chain Management (MSSCM)

St. Louis, MO

  • On campus
  • STEM-designated
  • AACSB-accredited business school
More about this program

St. Louis's Olin Business School runs this as a full-time, on-campus program with day classes and little scheduling flexibility, built for a three-semester Fall start rather than working professionals. You take a minimum of 36 credits, 34.5 of them in required courses like Foundations of Supply Chain Management, IT and Supply Chain Management, and Supply Chain Risk Management, plus at least 1.5 credits of electives and one required experiential course, either a Boeing Center Supply Chain Practicum or an internship. Olin lists the degree as STEM designated for its science, technology, engineering and math content. Tuition is a flat $84,000 for the 2026-27 academic year, billed at $28,000 a semester, on top of a $900 program fee, a $100 student government fee and a $350 health and wellness fee each semester.

Total
$84,000
Credits
36

Not ranked

University of Missouri-St. Louis

Master of Science, Supply Chain Analytics (Supply Chain Analytics MS)

St. Louis, MO

  • On campus
  • STEM-designated
  • No GMAT or GRE required
  • AACSB-accredited business school
More about this program

Evening classes make this a STEM-designated master's you can take while working: the University of Missouri-St. Louis runs its Master of Science in Supply Chain Analytics on campus, 100% in the evenings, over 30 credit hours. Required courses cover business analytics, supply chain strategies, supply chain and operations management, strategic sourcing, business logistics systems, supply chain modeling, business analytics and data mining, and management science methods, and you round out the degree with two electives such as global supply chain management or supply chain project management. The Ed G. Smith College of Business describes the program as combining supply chain domain knowledge with a business analytics toolbox to train what it calls citizen data scientists. The GMAT is not required for admission. GPA, letters of recommendation and professional experience are considered instead.

Credits
30

Ranked 17 of 23 MBAs

Washington University in St. Louis

Full-Time MBA

St. Louis, MO

  • On campus
  • No GMAT or GRE required
  • AACSB-accredited business school
More about this program

Twelve credits build the Operations & Supply Chain Management specialization inside WashU Olin's Full-Time MBA: six required, split across Foundations of Supply Chain Management, Project Management, and Supply Chain Risk Management, then six more from electives such as the Boeing Center Supply Chain Practicum, Advanced Operation Strategy, and Operations Analytics. The specialization connects you to the Olin Supply Chain and Operations Association and the Boeing Center for Supply Chain Innovation. The full MBA takes 67 credits over 2 years in person, starting each fall, with a 25-credit core in year one and electives filling the rest. WashU doesn't require a GMAT or GRE score, though the school recommends submitting one. Tuition for candidates starting in fall 2026 is listed at $72,700, billed at $36,350 a semester, on a flat rate that resets each year.

Total
$150,920
Credits
67
Length
24 months
Specialization
Operations & Supply Chain Management

Not ranked

Washington University in St. Louis

Supply Chain, Operations, and Technology, BSBA

St. Louis, MO

  • On campus
  • AACSB-accredited business school
  • Highest six-year graduation rate of the 2 St. Louis bachelor’s schools
More about this program

Washington University in St. Louis awards the Supply Chain, Operations, and Technology major through Olin Business School's BSBA, a 120-credit degree with at least 60 credits inside Olin and 48 outside it. The 12-credit major sits on top of a 42-credit business core and draws at least 6 credits from SCOT courses such as Supply Chain Management, Operations Fun: Data-Driven Optimization, Generative Artificial Intelligence and Operations Analytics, plus at least 3 from Business Strategy, Corporate and Global Strategy, Marketing Research, or a course on business experiments. All major courses must be taken in residence. Starting with the Class of 2029, every BSBA student also completes 3 credits of experiential coursework, such as a practicum or research internship. You can pair the major with a second major and a minor, and graduation requires a 2.0 GPA.

In-State
$62,982
Grad Rate
94%
As A
Major

Not ranked

University of Missouri-St. Louis

Business Administration BS, Supply Chain Management Emphasis

St. Louis, MO

  • On campus
  • Fully online
  • AACSB-accredited business school
  • Lowest in-state tuition of the 2 St. Louis bachelor’s programs
  • The only one of the 6 verified St. Louis programs with an online format
More about this program

St. Louis's inland port, a major railway hub, and interstate highway connections give this emphasis a hands-on setting, with three industry-related projects built into the program. You can choose between qualitative, analytical, or synthesis tracks to match your career goals, and the 120-hour Business Administration degree runs on campus, fully online, or in an evening format. UMSL reports a 90 percent career placement rate for supply chain management graduates and ranks 11th nationally for online bachelor's programs according to U.S. News. The curriculum builds on the school's supply chain research connections and the Ed G. Smith College of Business's AACSB accreditation in both business and accounting, a distinction the school says places it among the top two percent of business schools worldwide.

In-State
$14,400
Out-Of-State
$35,820
Grad Rate
57%
As A
Concentration

Each card is read from the school’s own program page. The rank is the program’s place in this site’s national ranking of its kind; the highlighted lines compare it with the other verified programs in St. Louis. A card marked “Not ranked” has no national rank to show: one doesn’t state enough of the figures its national ranking scores, and two are bachelor’s programs placed below the top 25 that the national bachelor’s list publishes.

Also Accredited In St. Louis

These programs appear in the AACSB or ACBSP listing. This site hasn’t verified their tuition, credits or length yet, so their cards carry the accreditor’s record only.

Residency

In-State And Out-Of-State Tuition In St. Louis

The one public university with a bachelor’s in St. Louis is University of Missouri-St. Louis (Missouri). At that campus in St. Louis, a Missouri resident pays less than a nonresident.

At University of Missouri-St. Louis, in St. Louis, residents pay $14,400 a year and nonresidents $35,820. In St. Louis, Washington University in St. Louis charges one rate whatever a student’s state.

Undergraduate tuition and fees by residency at St. Louis schools
School ResidentNonresidentDifference
University of Missouri-St. Louis Public, MO · undergraduate, per year $14,400$35,820$21,420
Washington University in St. Louis Private, MO · undergraduate, per year $62,982$62,982One rate

Tuition and required fees for a full-time undergraduate, 2023-24, as each school reports them to IPEDS, via College Navigator: University of Missouri-St. Louis and Washington University in St. Louis. Each school name links to its program page. Who counts as a resident is each school’s rule, set out on its own residency page.

STEM and OPT

STEM Designation And OPT

Three St. Louis programs state STEM designation on the school’s own pages:

An F-1 student can work in the U.S. on optional practical training for 12 months after a degree; a degree in a field DHS designates as STEM adds a 24-month extension. Eligibility runs through the school’s designated school official; Study in the States has the terms.

Economy

What St. Louis’s Supply Chain Economy Looks Like

County Business Patterns counts 59,667 transportation and warehousing jobs at 2,268 employers in the St. Louis metro for 2023, and 63,455 more in wholesale trade.

St. Louis clears none of the concentration thresholds below, so this St. Louis guide leads with programs and cost.

Supply chain occupations in the St. Louis metro by concentration
Occupation JobsLocation Quotient
Logisticians 2,4301.12
Transportation, Storage, and Distribution Managers Counts supply chain managers 2,0901.09
Buyers and Purchasing Agents 4,6001.09
Production, Planning, and Expediting Clerks 3,6801.09
Industrial Production Managers 2,2501.06
Purchasing Managers 7000.96
Operations Research Analysts 9000.96
Cargo and Freight Agents 7000.83
Compliance Officers Counts customs brokers 2,6900.75

BLS OEWS May 2025. A location quotient of 1.0 means the occupation’s share of local jobs equals its national share; 1.5 means half again as many.

Transportation and warehousing in the St. Louis metro by freight line, 2023
Freight Line JobsEmployersShare In St. LouisU.S. ShareRatio
Truck transportation 17,2921,33029%25.9%1.12×
Warehousing and storage 14,84920524.9%25.2%0.99×
Couriers and messengers 11,63111419.5%18.1%1.08×
Support activities for transportation 8,70341114.6%13%1.12×
Air transportation 1,659332.8%8.8%0.32×
Water transportation 550190.9%1%0.97×

County Business Patterns 2023. Share is each line’s part of all transportation and warehousing jobs; ratio is the local share over the U.S. share. Not published: withheld by the Census Bureau to protect individual employers.

How this guide decides what a metro stands out for
  • Air cargo: air transportation holds at least twice its national share of the metro’s transportation and warehousing jobs, and at least 10,000 jobs.
  • Port and water freight: water transportation holds at least twice its national share of the metro’s transportation and warehousing jobs, and at least 1,000 jobs.
  • Warehousing: warehousing and storage holds at least 1.4 times its national share of the metro’s transportation and warehousing jobs, and at least 5,000 jobs.
  • Parcel and courier hubs: couriers and delivery holds at least 1.5 times its national share of the metro’s transportation and warehousing jobs, and at least 5,000 jobs.
  • Trucking: trucking holds at least 1.5 times its national share of the metro’s transportation and warehousing jobs, and at least 5,000 jobs.
  • Distribution management: transportation, storage and distribution managers have a location quotient of 1.4 or more.
  • Purchasing: purchasing managers have a location quotient of 1.4 or more.
  • Operations analytics: operations research analysts have a location quotient of 1.5 or more.
  • Manufacturing: industrial production managers have a location quotient of 1.5 or more.
  • Freight brokerage and forwarding: cargo and freight agents have a location quotient of 1.5 or more.

Online

Online Programs A St. Louis Resident Can Enroll In

27 online programs say a resident of the St. Louis metro can enroll, on the school’s own authorization page. For St. Louis, none of them names Missouri and Illinois as closed. Closer to home, University of Missouri-St. Louis lists an online format among the St. Louis programs above.

Online supply chain programs that state they enroll Missouri and Illinois residents
School LevelCreditsEnrolls From
American Public University West Virginia · Online Master of Arts in Supply Chain Management (MA) Master’s36Every state
Boston University Massachusetts · Online Master of Science in Supply Chain Management (MSSCM), Metropolitan College Master’s32Every state
Florida International University Florida · Online Master of Science in Logistics and Supply Chain Management (MSLSCM) Master’s30Every state
Georgia College & State University Georgia · Online Master of Logistics and Supply Chain Management (MLSCM) Master’s30Every state
Georgia Southern University Georgia · M.S. in Logistics and Supply Chain Management (MS-LSCM) Master’s30Every state
Middle Tennessee State University Tennessee · Supply Chain Management, M.S. Master’s33Closed in CA, MA
Portland State University Oregon · Master of Science in Global Supply Chain Management (MSGSCM) Master’sNot publishedEvery state
The Ohio State University Ohio · Master of Supply Chain Management (MSCM) Master’s33Every state
The Pennsylvania State University Pennsylvania · Master of Supply Chain Management (MSCM) Master’s30Every state
University of Alabama in Huntsville Alabama · Master of Science in Supply Chain Management Master’s30Every state
University of Arkansas Arkansas · Master of Science in Supply Chain Management Master’s30Every state
University of Colorado at Boulder Colorado · MS Supply Chain Analytics - Online (Master of Science in Supply Chain Analytics) Master’s33Every state
University of Nebraska-Lincoln Nebraska · M.S. in Supply Chain Management (online Master of Science in Supply Chain Management) Master’s30Every state
University of North Carolina Wilmington North Carolina · Supply Chain Management, M.S. (Master of Science in Supply Chain Management, MS SCM) Master’s30Every state
University of Oklahoma Oklahoma · Online MS in Supply Chain Management (catalog: Supply Chain Management (Online), M.S.) Master’s32Every state
University of San Diego California · Master of Science in Supply Chain Management (MSSCM) Master’s33Closed in AL, AR, DC, GA, IA, KY, MN, MS, NJ, NC, ND, RI, WI
University of Tennessee, Knoxville Tennessee · Online Master’s Degree in Supply Chain Management (MS SCM); Master of Science in Supply Chain Management Master’s30Every state
American Public University West Virginia · Online Bachelor of Arts in Supply Chain Management (BA) Bachelor’s120Every state
Appalachian State University North Carolina · Bachelor of Science in Business Administration (BSBA) in Supply Chain Management Bachelor’s120Closed in CA
Arizona State University Arizona · Supply Chain Management, BS Bachelor’s120Every state
Ball State University Indiana · Bachelor's Degree in Logistics and Supply Chain Management (Online) Bachelor’s120Every state
East Texas A&M University Texas · Supply Chain Management (BBA) Bachelor’s120Closed in MA
Florida International University Florida · Bachelor of Business Administration in Logistics and Supply Chain Management Bachelor’s120Every state
Oregon State University Oregon · Supply Chain & Logistics Management Bachelor’s180Every state
Portland State University Oregon · Bachelor of Science in Business Administration: Global Supply Chain Management Bachelor’s180Every state
Purdue University Global Indiana · Bachelor of Science in Applied Supply Chain Management Bachelor’s180Every state
Utah Valley University Utah · Operations and Supply Chain Management, B.S. Bachelor’s120Every state

Each school’s own state-authorization page, read 2026-09-24. The table lists the programs whose page says who can enroll; “Every state” is the school’s own statement and “Closed in” lists the states it names. The rest are in the online degree ranking. Authorization changes, so confirm with the school before you apply.

How to become

How To Become A Supply Chain Professional In St. Louis

  1. Pick The Level That Fits Where You Start

    St. Louis offers three bachelor’s, five master’s and one doctorate. University of Missouri-St. Louis has the lowest in-state rate for a bachelor’s in St. Louis, $14,400 a year. With a degree already, St. Louis’s stated graduate totals start at $42,000.

  2. Keep Working While You Study

    In St. Louis, University of Missouri-St. Louis lists an online format. Beyond St. Louis, 27 online programs state they enroll Missouri residents.

  3. Know The Local Pay Ladder Before You Negotiate

    Logisticians in St. Louis run from $54,980 at the 10th percentile to $130,170 at the 90th, with the median at $88,880.

  4. Aim At The Roles St. Louis Concentrates

    Logisticians are St. Louis’s most concentrated supply chain occupation: 1.12 times the national share, median $88,880 in St. Louis.

Cost

What It Costs To Study In St. Louis

The St. Louis graduate programs that state a total run from $42,000 at Saint Louis University to $150,920 at Washington University in St. Louis. For a St. Louis bachelor’s, tuition and fees run $14,400 to $62,982 a year. St. Louis sits at 95.1 on BEA’s 2024 price index (U.S. = 100).

Graduate supply chain programs in St. Louis, by total tuition
Program Total TuitionCredits
Saint Louis University MO · On campus $42,00030
Washington University in St. Louis MO · On campus $84,00036
Washington University in St. Louis MO · On campus $150,92067

Note: A blank cell means the school’s program page does not state that figure.

Pay

Supply Chain Pay In The St. Louis Metro

BLS counts St. Louis’s supply chain managers among transportation, storage and distribution managers; in St. Louis their median is $110,070, against $107,230 nationally. St. Louis logisticians earn $88,880 at the median, and the middle half of them $66,830 to $112,070.

Two of the nine occupations below pay more in St. Louis than nationally. At St. Louis’s prices, the logistician median is worth $93,471 in national terms.

Supply chain pay in the St. Louis metro by percentile
Occupation 10th25thMedian75th90thU.S. Median
Purchasing Managers 700 jobs $83,600$103,850$135,400$163,650$202,180$148,080
Industrial Production Managers 2,250 jobs $78,090$98,080$122,860$157,880$185,160$126,060
Transportation, Storage, and Distribution Managers Counts supply chain managers · 2,090 jobs $62,500$83,400$110,070$140,460$181,260$107,230
Logisticians 2,430 jobs $54,980$66,830$88,880$112,070$130,170$82,320
Compliance Officers Counts customs brokers · 2,690 jobs $48,270$60,150$77,270$99,540$127,440$80,730
Buyers and Purchasing Agents 4,600 jobs $49,170$60,390$73,280$94,010$118,850$77,710
Operations Research Analysts 900 jobs $49,180$52,530$63,650$95,410$125,800$88,940
Production, Planning, and Expediting Clerks 3,680 jobs $36,900$44,240$51,260$68,480$85,240$59,650
Cargo and Freight Agents 700 jobs $33,360$35,190$48,780$63,640$78,060$52,260

BLS OEWS May 2025, metropolitan area estimates: annual wages at the 10th, 25th, 50th (median), 75th and 90th percentiles. BLS publishes no separate wage for supply chain managers. They are counted inside transportation, storage and distribution managers, and every figure here is for that whole occupation.

Questions

FAQ

Which Schools In St. Louis Offer A Supply Chain Management Degree?

University of Missouri-St. Louis, Washington University in St. Louis, Fontbonne University, Ranken Technical College and Saint Louis University: nine accredited programs in St. Louis.

Are Any St. Louis Supply Chain Programs STEM-Designated?

Yes: Saint Louis University MS, University of Missouri-St. Louis MS and Washington University in St. Louis MS. An F-1 graduate of one of these St. Louis programs can apply for the 24-month STEM OPT extension.

How Much More Do Out-Of-State Students Pay In St. Louis?

A nonresident undergraduate in St. Louis pays $21,420 more a year at University of Missouri-St. Louis, per the IPEDS report of each St. Louis school.

What Do Supply Chain Managers Earn In St. Louis?

BLS counts them among transportation, storage and distribution managers, whose St. Louis median is $110,070; the top tenth earn over $181,260.

Can You Study Supply Chain Management Online From St. Louis?

27 online programs say a resident of the St. Louis metro can enroll, on the school’s own authorization page. For St. Louis, none of them names Missouri and Illinois as closed. Closer to home, University of Missouri-St. Louis lists an online format among the St. Louis programs above.

Related

Other City Guides And Further Reading

Other city guides in Missouri and Illinois
City ProgramsManager Median
Chicago Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN 5$124,120
Kansas City Kansas City, MO-KS 1$108,270

Sources

  1. 1 AACSB International, Accredited Schools directory (program area: Supply Chain/ Transport/ Logistics) Read .
  2. 2 ACBSP, list of accredited programs (CHEA Standard 2-B), as of December 9, 2024 Read .
  3. 3 U.S. Census Bureau, Core Based Statistical Areas delineation, July 2023 (lists 1 and 2) Read .
  4. 4 NCES IPEDS, Institutional Characteristics 2023-24 (IC2023_AY): undergraduate tuition and required fees Read .
  5. 5 Graduate program totals, read from each school’s program page Read .
  6. 6 U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Study in the States: STEM OPT Hub Read .
  7. 7 Online programs’ state authorization pages, read one by one Read .
  8. 8 BLS OEWS, May 2025: metropolitan area estimates Read .
  9. 9 U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns 2023, by metropolitan area Read .
  10. 10 BEA, Regional Price Parities by metropolitan area (MARPP), all items, 2024 Read .

No employer is named on this page: none of the sources above lists employers by metro.

Sponsored

Supply Chain Master’s & MBA Programs

Schools pay to appear in these listings. They are separate from our rankings, which no school can pay to change.